Your Typical Student
A place for both complaints and satisfaction.

The New 7 Wonders of the World

This year, on the 7th day of July (the date-stamp would look like this –> 07/07/07), 7 man-made monuments were selected to replace the ancient 7 wonders of the world. What defines a ‘wonder of a world’? The conventional definition is a man-made structure, representing the human will to build awe-inspiring monuments to celebrate religion, mythology, art, power, and science. Wonders are the final product of human knowledge of architecture, engineering and unity.

Current World Wonders
As of now, the following structures will replace the original 7, and claim the title as a “wonder of the world”:
- Chichén Itzá (Mexico)

- Christ Redeemer (Brazil)

- Great Wall (China)

- Machu Picchu (Peru)

- Petra (Jordan)

- Roman Colosseum (Italy)

- Taj Mahal (India)

This is the world’s first ever global election.

As massive and beautiful as the ancient wonders are, only one wonder (Great Pyramid of Giza) was able to withstand the devastating wear-and-tear of time.

Previous World Wonders
Here’s the list of the original 7 wonder of the world:
- The Lighthouse of Alexandria
- The Temple of Artemis at Ephesus
- The Statue of Zeus at Olympia
- The Colossus of Rhodes
- The Hanging Gardens of Babylon
- The Mausoleum of Halicarnassus
- The Great Pyramid of Giza

Suffice to say, there were (and still are) certainly more magnificent structures around the world. However, the original list was compiled by ancient Greeks, and they did not know the existence of absolutely everything on Earth.

In my opinion, I don’t particularly enjoy the idea of replacing the original 7 wonders of the world. Sure, most of them either don’t even exist anymore or aren’t even recognizable. I would have preferred that whatever organization conducted this operation would have added to the list rather than delete and rewrite. Hopefully the world won’t forget the original 7, or even the other ‘forgotten’ wonders of the world that were excluded, simply because 7 is a limiting number.

2 Responses to “The New 7 Wonders of the World”

  1. Says:

    Hey, I saw the news about this on television! Hahaha, although I didn’t get to watch it! :( Anyway, yeah, I agree with you. They should have just picked a different title for this new list of 7 “wonders of the world.” And I also hope that people won’t forget about the “old” wonders of the world. Or something like that. :D

  2. Says:

    If they would use the title “Wonders of the World” the old ones might be forgotten!!

Leave a Reply